Choosing Life

Abortions seem to be a hot topic. Should someone abort if they are unwilling to have child, cannot afford to raise a child, or are too young and it was a “mistake”?  Often times this perspective is forgotten about:  What if she must abort her child in order to survive. These are just some questions men or women, young and old have to ask ourselves.

With this presidential campaign this topic is hitting close to home for many people. For some they cannot imagine having to decide to abort a child or choosing life. Do not worry this blog post is not about Pro-life or Pro-choice. This blog post is about two stories that hopefully give a different perspective.

In the spring of  2013, I was raped. The more time that past the more I became insecure and ashamed.  After a month of being in and out of the medical clinic at my university. With no solid answer as to what was wrong with me. On April 18th the question was answered. One of the nurses put the pieces together and decided to take a pregnancy test compiled with many other tests. The test came back positive, my initial thought was well…. That is very wrong because I am saving myself for marriage so that must be for someone else.  Without really acknowledging that I had suppressed what happened to me to the point where I wouldn’t allow myself to believe that I was raped. Unfortunately with the change of events I had to come to terms with the fact that I was with child. Never before had the thought of abortion crossed my mind because that was never on my radar. But after that news it crossed my mind.  When the thought approached  I remember thinking about a verse that was so near and dear to me whenever I dreamt about having kids because in my mind it was something far off. Not just right around the corner.

“I knew you before I formed you in your mother’s womb. Before you were born I set you apart….”

Jeremiah 1:5

Shortly after I was reminded of this verse I thought to myself, who ever this baby inside me; whether a girl or a boy, Jesus knows him/her and has a plan for their life. I came to a resolve within myself that I will grow to love my unborn child.  Because someway, somehow I believe God has a way of making things beautiful. Long story short I had a molar pregnancy. A molar pregnancy for those who do not know, is a viable pregnancy, resulting in abnormal cysts in the placenta. There is no baby in this type of pregnancy and for me at 19 years old, that was a lot to take in and process. Twenty four hours prior I thought I was going to become a young mom,  shortly finding out that was not the case. If they would have found the the molar pregnancy any later it could have turned into cancer. I thank God for that nurse who was curious enough to test if I was Pregnant. It made me come to term with what happened to me. But I am also thankful for that season because I can now empathize and understand what a lot of young teen moms feel. I’m 23 now and can not imagine what my life would have looked like. But I know when the time comes abortion will never be an option for my fiance and I.

This next story is the story of two people who mean the world to me. My older brother and his wife. About three days ago Greyson Azariah Mumba  was born, he already is a blessing and a miracle. My older brother briefly wrote, ” Early on in the pregnancy a doctor told us that in order to save her life we may have to abort Greyson. We prayed and many others prayed.She is doing well and so is Greyson. God is so faithful! We believe that God has great things in store for this Guy..”

I remember getting the text  from my older brother after that doctors appointment. The concern and fear that quickly followed after reading the first part was overwhelming. But further down I read more about how they believed that was not God’s will for their little guy and that they were asking that all their loved ones join them in prayer. So Praying is just   what many people did. Greyson’s  beautiful mother and father are a representation of how their faith in the goodness of God is a reminder that every child born or unborn matters.

Greyson Azariah Mumba is a MIRACLE, his beautiful mother is a MIRACLE, his life matters and so does every unborn child

2 thoughts on “Choosing Life

Leave a comment